ADN: Babalik Ka Rin!

Kaytagal mo nang nawala, babalik ka rin, babalik ka rin

Today marks the 13th Monthsary of Aldub and Aldubnation.

A month after that beautiful and memorable Anniversary celebration.

aldub2

Let me be one of the first to say congratulations to of course first, Maine and Alden. So many have tried to bring you down and yet here you are, still going strong. And secondly to every member of Aldubnation. Look how far we’ve come guys. Yes, it seems surreal but no matter how crazy it was, we still kept it together. And for that I want all of you to know that I am so proud to be a part of this Fandom.

For weeks I have struggled on what to write. Admittedly, I haven’t been able to write that much.

Yes, yes I know Pokémon GO is one of the major reasons LOL! (Alden, I’d gladly pilot your account hahaha do you want a Lapras?? 🙂 )

Then I had a thought.. I’ve been reading the Timeline and one particular thing seems to dominate it.. and that is:

  1. Reaching 1M seems to be a lot harder now.
  2. A lot of accounts have gone MIA

Sad as it may seem but the reality is, let us all admit it – it’s not the same as before. The fire is slowly fading out for Aldubnation. So what happened to us?

I thought long and hard. And I told myself, why look far when I can ask myself this question. And I tried to ponder and go down memory lane. I looked at everything I did for the past year and I felt sad because I too have changed. I was not the same anymore. Gone are the days when I would post a banner of the OHT, Write-ups for what the HT meant to me don’t exist anymore and my blogs… sigh. Each post written in even further intervals. I even try to hit myself silly cause I realized that I kept on posting my crazy selfies more! Haha forgive me everybody for my bouts of narcissism!

I felt sad. I realized that I didn’t really have my mojo back. But then you know I realized something.

What I was going through, what all of us are going through – was normal.

We have hit a PLATEAU. A phase of  being stagnant. But that’s just it. It’s just a phase – it doesn’t mean it’s permanent.

I see the tweets and people are urging everyone to hold on, to continue their support for Maine and Alden. I salute these people who still have the same tenacity of being so focused and driven. It’s a rare trait to have.

Here’s my thought. When this phenomenon broke out, it just swept us away. It really changed our lives. We devoted ourselves, we sacrificed money, time & effort because we had such a deep love for Maine and Alden. And then reality happened. School, work, and life still had to go on. And people slowly had to focus on their world.

And it’s not a bad thing. Let me make this clear to everyone. That’s just reality. It doesn’t make you less of a fan if you are not as active as you were before. What matters is if in your heart you are still continuously supporting them, whether it be watching their movies or shows, buying products that they endorse, or even just by including them in your prayers.

Hitting a plateau is very normal in all aspects of life. It happens in careers, relationships, even in religion. What’s important is what you do about it.

For me, I see it as a way to reload, reboot and reinvent ourselves.

946687

And I certainly believe that we can get through this hump. Together, we must find a way to reignite the fire and have the drive to be the Fandom that we truly are – mighty, united, news-breaking, and unstoppable.

We should also take this time to reassess ourselves. There are a number of us who may have lost their way for a number of reasons. But hear me out.

A fan is defined as:

A fan, or fanatic, sometimes also called aficionado or supporter, is a person who is enthusiastically devoted to something or somebody, such as a band, a sports team, a genre, a book, a movie or an entertainer. Collectively, the fans of a particular object or person constitute its fanbase or fandom. They may show their enthusiasm in a variety of ways, such as by promoting the object of their interest, being members of a fan club, holding or participating in fan conventions, or writing fan mail. They may also engage in creative activities (“fan labor“) such as creating fanzines, writing fan fiction, making memes or drawing fan art.

-Wikipedia

  1. an enthusiastic follower or admirer

– Merriam-Webster

I understand that all of us feel very strongly about our idols. That’s what makes us fans. We can’t help get disappointed at times, we can’t help get angry when things go our way. But we need to be reminded of where our place is. We are already lucky enough to be given such a high respect and gratitude by Maine & Alden. They make it a point to include us in their lives so much. But we should know where our boundaries lie. We are FANS. We are not their MASTERS. We do not own them and we do not dictate their lives.

How we act, reflects on them too. As the fandom that supports them, we should show the world that we are different.

We are HELPFUL – through the many outreach activities such as the Aldub libraries and the numerous programs that FCs and groups like Sakololo and Team Ambassadors does.

We are HEADLINERS – We break records! 41M Tweets! Box-office records! My Bebe Love! IYAM!

We are GLOBAL – Aldubnation knows no bounds. In every country, in whatever age group, there lies an Aldub Fan.

We are AWARD-WINNING. We are CREATIVE. We are STRONG. We are UNITED.

We are LOVE.

And I know for a fact that Maine and Alden loves and values us so much. We as fans should be as loving and considerate as them. WE should learn how to respect the boundaries. Meddling with their personal life, feeling jealous with each other, fighting…

That won’t do us any good. And it certainly wouldn’t do any good Maine & Alden. It will actually hurt and disappoint them because they have so much faith in us. Why are we letting them down?

Yes, it is not a perfect world and we are definitely far from being a perfect Fandom. But there is truth at the heart of it. We were all brought together by 2 extraordinary people – Maine and Alden.

We have pledged our support no matter what. They on the other hand, gave us their trust and love.

We may not be the same as we used to be but we can go back to our former glory. We shall make Maine and Alden proud and we shall show everyone that Aldubnation is here to say.

I myself have come and gone – many, many times. Baeyaw John would keep on laughing at me whenever I would say goodbye. He would always say, “Babalik ka rin.” He would say that I could never keep away no matter what happens, whatever drama I had in life or how matter how “busy” I would say I was.

And as much as I hate to admit that he’s right – it’s true. Because try as I might, I can’t completely let go of this fandom. It has become a special part of me and I am not ready to leave it yet because I know that it still is the best there is and we still have a long way to go. We have made friends and even became a real FAMILY. How often can you say that about a Fandom? (Hello! I may be coming home soon I still want to see everyone especially Maine & Alden!)

And yes Aldubnation, I have faith. Faith in all of us that we will come back and be the Strong and Mighty Aldubnation that the world has come to know. Believe it. Claim it.

Because I feel it.

Tamang Panahon is going to come again.

So take your time. Take a break then come back. Come back refreshed and strong as ever. Then together we shall rebuild this fandom and return it to its glory for everyone to see.

Carmi huggable_me

Images grabbed from the internet.

Images CTTO.

 

 

2 thoughts on “ADN: Babalik Ka Rin!

  1. i agree.. minsan nagpaplano nga din akong mag hiatus.. pero dalawang araw lang talaga kaya ko.. i keep coming back, because of ALDUB and because i have a family here in the fandom as well.. hindi man tayo ganun kaingay gaya ng dati, i think we just hit that kind of friendship level among us.. yung kahit tahimik man tayo, it’s a comfortable silence.. kaya kahit hindi man gaanong active, i feel na andito pa rin ang dating ADN, hinding-hindi mang-iiwan..

    we are just evolving..
    and becoming better..

    Like

  2. Reblogged this on The World according to Toni and commented:
    I’ve been suffering from writers block for some days now, I have lots of topics to cover most especially ALDUB related ones but I don’t know how to start. Well, this post is just as timely as it is.

    Yes, Its been 13 months and so many things had happened and will about to happen. I am sure that we can all come back and restore our glory. ADN pa ba?

    We will all COME BACK. I firmly believe that.

    Like

Leave a Reply

